Venice January, 2010

San Giorgio Maggiore

San Giorgio Maggiore in January

I love Venice. It is as simple as that. The city it seems doesn’t exist in this world but rather is floating in some other space and time. While there I forget who I am and where I came from and just roam Venetian streets all day long.

I took this photo during my trip to this magical city this January. It was on the first day, the city was covered with fog. Not so many people on the streets, mostly locals, no tourists. While on my way from the railway station and deep into the city I was walking through thick fog that brought with it a growing feeling of timelessness. When I finally got to San Marco and my favorite view on San Giorgio Maggiore most of the fog disappeared leaving unfriendly gray sky behind and exposing me to the chilly winds of winter.

Leave a Reply

